Los Angeles Rams News, Rumors, Odds and Stats
ESPN.com: NFL world reacts to blown interference call during Rams-Saints game
Referee Bill Vinovich's crew missed an obvious pass interference call on Los Angeles Rams cornerback Nickell Robey-Coleman in the final minutes of Sunday's NFC Championship Game against the New Orleans Saints.
The no-call came with 1:45 remaining on a third-and-10 play from the Rams' 13-yard line, with the score tied at 20. Robey-Coleman appeared to run into Saints receiver Tommylee Lewis and make helmet-to-helmet contact before the ball arrived -- sending the raucous Mercedes-Benz Superdome crowd into a chorus of boos when no flag was thrown.
Had interference been called, the Saints would have had a new set of downs and a chance to run the clock down before attempting a short field goal with less than 20 seconds remaining.
ESPN.com: Sean Payton: Saints will 'never get over' blown pass interference call
NEW ORLEANS -- Sean Payton said the NFL's head of officials told him the officials "blew the call" by not penalizing the Los Angeles Rams for pass interference late in the fourth quarter of Sunday's NFC Championship Game.
And Payton said he and the New Orleans Saints will "probably never get over it" after the Rams went on to win 26-23 in overtime.
"For a call like that not to be made, man, it's just hard to swallow. And then to get a phone call..." Payton said, trailing off. He added: "We spoke initially, then I called to follow up.